Vallone Scholars: —Striving for EXCELLENCE

he Arthur S. Vallone Scholarship is now in its 15th year. This program is designed to assist deserving mail handlers and/or their immediate family with the difficult task of financing the cost of higher education. As currently administered, each of the five NPMHU regions is granted a total of 3 new scholarships annually. These awards are in the amount of \$1,000 per year, and each scholarship is renewable for the recipient for up to 4 years or until the completion of the students' undergraduate degree, whichever occurs first-for a maximum of \$4,000 per recipient.

The NPMHU National Scholarship was dedicated and named after Arthur S. Vallone after his passing in 2005. Arthur S. Vallone served as the elected president of NPMHU Local 309, which was headquartered in Buffalo, NY and represented approximately 1,000 mail handlers throughout New York. Vallone also served on the National Executive Board for 3 years as the Vice President for the Northeast Region. Since his untimely passing in 2005, the NPMHU has continued Arthur Vallone's legacy by recognizing his firm belief in the importance of education. Once again in his memory, the NPMHU recognizes fifteen students for their hard work and dedication to education, and has awarded scholarships to these students beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year.

Well over 250 applications were received this year giving Scholarship Committee members Susan Carle, who is a Professor of Law at American University, and Evelyn Temple, who is the former NEA Assistant Executive Director, a challenging job of choosing 15 from the large pool of qualified applicants. For consideration by the Judges, as part of their scholarship application, each applicant submitted their high school transcripts, a 500 word essay, and 2 letters of personal and academic reference. The applications were then closely evaluated by the scholarship committee, and the winners were selected. One common theme that stuck out about this year's pool of Vallone Scholars was the overwhelming commitment to various projects or learning experiences that were meaningful and endearing to their lives. This commitment reminded me of a particular Resolution that was adopted by the NPMHU Executive Board when bestowing this honor to Arthur S. Vallone. The Resolution reads, in part: "WHEREAS, Arthur S. Vallone repeatedly demonstrated his commitment to the membership of the NPMHU, by volunteering to serve on countless details and special projects to enhance the strength and effectiveness of the NPMHU, and to better the lives of all 50,000 Mail Handlers across the country."

Recent Vallone Scholar Tyra Crump demonstrated her dedication to helping people in need by volunteering at the Brail Institute in Las Angeles, CA since 2011. Tyra also participated in Acteens, a youth missionary group. Tyra wrote in her Vallone Scholarship essay "Acteens has truly taught me the meaning of "service with a smile, "and that it is important to always be willing to help others because, if we were in need, we would want someone to help us". One final example of Vallone's commitment was in the final paragraph of 2015 Vallone Scholar Harrison Greenwell's essay where he stated "I promise to work as hard as necessary to earn the skills I'll need to make my contribution to society. I value labor, and want to help design products that will create jobs for Americans." It's examples like these that set the NPMHU Vallone Scholars above the rest. Once again on behalf of the entire National Postal Mail Handlers Union, congratulations!

Applications and details about the NPMHU Arthur S. Vallone Scholarship for the 2016-2017 school years will be available in late November 2015. For details you may contact your Local Union or visit the NPMHU National Union website at www.npmhu.org.





Applications for the NPMHU Arthur S. Vallone Scholarship Program for the 2016-2017 school year will be available in November of 2015. Monitor www.npmhu.org and upcoming publications for additional details.



Local 297 | KENDRA VLIEGER



Local 300 | DENSIA WRAY



Local 301 NAREH MKRTSCHJAN



Local 302 | CHELSEA OEY

Local 303 | TYRA CRUMP



Local 304 CHRISTIAN VENNEMANN



Local 305 | CHUNG DO KIM



Local 309 | BRIAN REAGAN



Local 311 | VIET DINH



Local 318 | KE'JON HALL-ROBINSON



Local 321 AMA TWENEBOA KODUAH



Local 322 | MELISSA COSTANTINO



Local 323 | HALEY CHINANDER



Local 324 JEROMY VILLATOR



Local 332 HARRISON GREENWELL