SHAPE the FUTURE



DAVID WILKIN LOCAL 309 PRESIDENT RITA TRIPP LOCAL 307 SEBM

JAVIER VALENCIA LOCAL 303 BRANCH PRESIDENT BEVERLY HENDERSON LOCAL 297 PRESIDENT LINDA WAGMAN LOCAL 298 PRESIDENT JAMES HAGGARTY 307 PRESIDENT

The day started with a brief message from Rep. Peter Defazio (D-OR), in which the Congressman shared some motivational words, encouraging Mail Handlers to continue to fight for their collective bargaining rights. Rep. Defazio also gave a special thanks to David Jarvis, President of Local 315 in Portland, OR, for playing an integral role in assisting the Congressman in developing "a thoughtful, sustainable bill for the Postal Service."

Following Congressman Defazio was an inspiring Invocation, delivered by Brother Reggie Riggins, Treasurer of Local 310. President Hegarty then delivered an emotional tribute to our veterans and to all American troops. A gripping video portraying the heroic acts of our Service Members was played, and then, with great respect and admiration for our troops, President Hegarty asked those delegates who have served in the military to rise and be recognized, proclaiming that "Because of brave Americans like you, we live our lives in freedom. We salute you!"

The first order of official business for Tuesday morning was the presentation of the Second Supplemental Report of the Credentials Committee, once again delivered by Chairwoman Madelyn Puricelli of Local 320. The purpose of this report was to inform the delegates that the number of registered delegates in attendance had increased by one, resulting in a total of 278 certified delegates to the Convention.

Sister June Harris, Vice President of Local 306 and Chairwoman of the Elections Committee, delivered the much-anticipated results of the Election for National Judges of Election, the balloting for which took place following Monday's proceedings. Coming in first place was Susanna Paniagua of Local 320, with Kevin Tabarus of Local 300 coming in second, and Michael Rembelinsky of Local 308 coming in third. These newly elected Judges of Election then had the important duty of supervising the forthcoming election for National Officers. Brother Kevin Tabarus was selected as Chair of the Judges of Election, and he took the podium to accept nominations for National Officers for the 2012 election.

National President John Hegarty and National Secretary-Treasurer Mark Gardner were both nominated, without opposition, and both were declared duly re-elected by acclamation to the thunderous roar of the delegates. Incumbent Vice Presidents Jefferson C. Peppers, III from the



John Hegarty



Mark Gardner



Paul Hogrogian

Members of the National Executive Board who were reelected by acclamation



Brother Reggie Riggins, Treasurer of Local 310, delivers in inspiring invocation.



National President John Hegarty presents the Report of the National Officers.



Jeff Peppers

National Secretary-Treasurer Mark Gardner reports on the National Union's internal operations, including its membership and finances.