

LOCAL 303 PRESIDENT

LYNDEN CLARK LOCAL 318 MEMBER

LOCAL 312 PRESIDENT (RETIRED)

MARTY EVENSON LOCAL 318 MEMBER KIM ROJAS

was, in fact, the first U.S. Senator in history to be elected by mail-in ballots. Oregon is the only state in the Union where citizens vote exclusively by mail, a process that has proved efficient, and also effective in raising voter participation. A huge proponent of his home-state's system, Wyden said, "Everybody in America ought to have the chance to vote by mail and see how all of you, day in and day out, offer quality, efficiency and value to the American people." The delegates could not have agreed more.

Following Sen. Wyden to the podium was Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA), who represents President Hegarty's hometown of Springfield, MA. President Hegarty welcomed him with a warm introduction, particularly thanking him for the work he has accomplished in saving Mail Handler jobs in Springfield. The Congressman touched on the importance of working at the grassroots level to ensure the future viability of the Postal Service, and went on to admonish House Republicans for their partisan political banter that is based on unsubstantiated opinions, rather than fact. He later acknowledged the challenges facing the Postal Service brought about by advancement in email technology, but noted that "We can address these changes in technology, but not retreat from the guarantee of a Postal Service that functions efficiently."

Sam D'Ambrosio, Chairman of the Constitution Committee, then led the delegates to continue the process of debating and voting on the proposed amendments to the National Constitution and the Uniform Local Union Constitution. A variety of proposals were passed, and none of the recommendations was rejected. Several particular amendments are worthy of note.

First, after substantial debate, an amendment to Article XIV, Section 3 of the National Constitution was passed, tying possible dues increases of \$1.00 per pay period to any future contractual increases in salary or cost-of-living adjustments totaling over \$500 in any calendar year. As part of this amendment, the National Union agreed to provide all Local Unions with an extra 80 cents per member per pay period, from the National Union treasury, for the next three years starting this December.

Second, there was substantial debate about a contentious amendment pertaining to Article IV, Section 5 of the ULUC and the authority of each Local President to certify stewards. After that debate, and a failed roll call vote to further amend the proposed amendment, the delegates passed an amendment restricting the appointment of Mail Handlers as stewards if they have served as temporary supervisors (204Bs) at any time during the past two years, with a limited exception provided in unusual circumstances at the discretion of the Local President. The rationale behind the exception clause is that, in some unusual cases, Local Presidents should have the prerogative to make such appointments in order to mitigate the possibility of having no available options for stewards at a particular facility. Though all delegates expressed their distaste for 204Bs and a desire to expunge them from the ranks of Union representatives, it was decided that, in the end, Local Presidents need to retain this discretionary power.

To conclude Thursday's proceedings, the delegation welcomed first-year Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), who was elected to office just six months ago. The delegates were excited to have a new ally in Congress, as Bonamici promised to fight for the causes of the NPMHU, for the labor movement and working families, and for sustainable postal reform. "Postal Service reform bills are going to be critical for the long term viability of the Postal Service, and that is something that I am committed to," she told the crowd. Like the elected officials that spoke before her, she castigated her peers who are seeking to pass legislation that would dismantle the Postal

## **Our Departed Brothers and Sisters**

## **Local 300** Bert Carley Allen Hall Ed Malinowski

Local 301 Tom Butler John Conant Ben McKnight Ray Racette Ben Stone David Welskopp Joseph "Tony" Wythe

Local 305 Ron Burgess Tony Papa

Local 307 Leroy Deramus James Calvin Holmes Gladys Darby-Cobb Phillips Local 310 Anthony "Tony" Dowell

Local 320 Dean Owen Poirier Joanne Elizabeth Selleck James Wesley Swartz Hector Ruiz

Local 324 Abe Calamease

## Local 329

George Brown Turner Gilmore James Harbin Levi Pope