Steve Lynch (D-MA) also may reintroduce his bill dealing with the onerous payments by the USPS to the already over-funded pension system. The NPMHU has supported Lynch's bill in the past.

The main issue that needs to be addressed by September 30, 2011 is the vast over-funding of the pension system by the USPS and the intolerable payments extracted from the USPS each year to pre-fund retiree health benefits. Without those Congressionally mandated payments, the USPS would not have to resort to draconian cuts in services and changes in its facilities or workforce.

In this regard, the NPMHU has joined with the other unions and some management associations to press the White House to take action. The text of the letter signed by all of these parties is on the NPMHU website. The letter asks President Obama to address the terribly unfair over-payments required of the USPS to the Postal Service Retiree Health Benefits Fund. In part, the letter points out that, "had it not been for these payments . . ., the Postal Service would have been profitable over the past four years." Furthermore, no other federal agency is required to make these payments, and the RHBF Fund already has more than forty billion dollars in it. As noted, the other postal unions joined the NPMHU in sending this letter.

Also of critical importance to mail handlers, Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) recently introduced legislation aimed at cutting benefits for injured workers who collect workers' compensation through the Federal Employees' Compensation Act (FECA). Her legislation affects both injured federal and postal workers. It would require that, when an injured employee reaches normal retirement age under Social Security, that employee would be forced to retire and would be placed in either the Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS) or the Federal Employees Retirement System (FERS), depending on which system provided coverage for that employee.

The NPMHU opposed this change when it first surfaced five years ago, and it was not adopted at that time. It is an onerous proposal that is aimed exclusively at federal or postal employees who were injured on the job and usually through no fault of their own. The changes proposed by Collins could result in some employees seeing a dramatic decline in their living standard when they reach retirement age. Fortunately, this legislation is in its initial stage, and once again the NPMHU will oppose the bill in its current form but will work with Senator Collins and other members of the Senate Committee to find alternative ways of protecting injured employees.

All mail handlers should pay careful attention to the evolving dynamics on Capitol Hill, as these issues wind their way through the legislative process.

112TH CONGRESS COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS ANNOUNCED

House Oversight and Government Reform Chairman Darrell Issa (CA) and Ranking Member of the Oversight and Government Reform Committee Elijah Cummings (MD) named their choices to lead the subcommittee on the Federal Workforce, the U.S. Postal Service, and Labor Policy.

Chairman Issa reached out to freshman Congressman Dennis Ross from the 12th Congressional District in Florida to chair the subcommittee; also on the majority side are Justin Amash (MI), Jim Jordan (OH), Jason Chaffetz (UT), Connie Mack (FL), Tim Wahlberg (MI) and Trey Gowdy (SC)

On the Democratic side past Chairman Stephen Lynch (111TH) from the 9th Congressional District in Massachusetts changes roles and will now be the ranking member on the subcommittee in the 112th Congress. The Democrats went with experience to fill the rest of the slots on the subcommittee; naming former chairman Danny Davis (IL) to serve with Congressman Lynch, also named was Congressman Gerry Connolly (VA) and Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton from the District of Columbia.

Here is the entire House Oversight and Government Reform Committee listed by political party:

REPUBLICANS

Chairman Darrell Issa, California Dan Burton, Indiana John Mica, Florida Todd Platts, Pennsylvania Michael Turner, Ohio Patrick McHenry, North Carolina Jim Jordan, Ohio Jason Chaffetz, Utah Connie Mack, Florida Tim Walberg, Michigan James Lankford, Oklahoma Ann Marie Buerkle, New York Paul Gosar, Arizona Raul Labrador, Idaho Patrick Meehan, Pennsylvania Scott DesJarlais, Tennessee Joe Walsh, Illinois Trey Gowdy, South Carolina Dennis Ross, Florida Frank Guinta, New Hampshire Blake Farenthold, Texas Michael Kelly, Pennsylvania Justin Amash, Michigan

DEMOCRATS

Ranking Member Elijah Cummings, Maryland

Edolphus Towns, New York Carolyn Maloney, New York Eleanor Holmes Norton, Washington, DC Dennis Kucinich, Ohio John Tierney, Massachusetts William Clay, Missouri Stephen Lynch, Massachusetts James Cooper, Tennessee Gerald Connolly, Virginia Michael Quigley, Illinois Danny Davis, Illinois Bruce Braley, Iowa Peter Welch, Vermont John Yarmuth, Kentucky Christopher Murphy, Connecticut Jackie Speier, California

SENATE

Senator Harry Reid from Nevada, the Majority Leader, and Minority Leader Mitch Mc Connell from Kentucky recently announced their choices for the Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee for the 112th Congress. The chairman of the committee will again be Senator Joseph Lieberman, an Independent from Connecticut. Susan Collins from Maine, the ranking member for the Republicans, also served that same role in the 111th Congress. The members of the subcommittee on Federal Financial Management, Government Information, Federal Services, and International Security are listed in the article on page 8.

The rest of the members of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee are:

DEMOCRATS

Carl Levin, Michigan Daniel Akaka, Hawaii Thomas Carper, Delaware Mark Pryor, Arkansas Mary Landrieu, Louisiana Claire McCaskill, Missouri Jon Tester, Montana Mark Begich, Alaska

REPUBLICANS

John McCain, Arizona Thomas Coburn, Oklahoma John Ensign, Nevada Rob Portman, Ohio Rand Paul, Kentucky Ron Johnson, Wisconsin