NPMHU COMMITTEE ON THE FUTURE

FINALIZES LEGISLATIVE AGENDA FOR THE 117TH CONGRESS

he NPMHU's Committee on the Future was originally constituted in 1996, and for twenty-five years has engaged in strategic planning over long-term issues that are likely to confront the Union over the coming months and years. The membership of the Committee is comprised of all members of the National Executive Board and a diverse makeup of Presidents from locals large and small. The Committee usually focuses on five key issues facing the NPMHU:

privatization of the Postal Service; the NPMHU's legislative relations program; USPS automation and other technological changes; financial planning, especially at the Local level; and membership recruitment.

The Committee's 2020 meeting was cancelled due to the pandemic. However, the group did come together in February 2021 to finalize the NPMHU's Legislative Agenda for the 117th Congress which is included below in its entirety. Similar to previous

legislative agendas, it calls for the removal of the prefunding mandate; comprehensive postal reform; protections against cuts to earned benefits; and, fortifying collective bargaining rights. But as we are coming into a year of facing the COVID-19 pandemic, the agenda also calls for emergency funding for the Postal Service to compensate for revenue losses and protections for the workforce. The Committee on the Future is scheduled to meet in person in June 2021.



Committee on the Future members include, President Paul Hogrogian, NST Michael Hora, NEB Vice Presidents, June Harris, Don Sneesby, John Gibson, Lawrence Sapp and Dave Wilkin, with Local Presidents Nick Mosezar, Danny St. Marie, Kelly Dickey, John Macon, Jeff Larson, Anthony Coleman, Kevin Tabarus, Andy Badilishamwalimu, James Morris, CAD Manager Teresa Harmon, Legislative and Political Director Katie Maddocks, and (not pictured) MHBP Executive Director Nina Gallauresi.