

**Chris Bentley** Local 297 President



Cindy Hoehl-Rinker Local 321 President



Dan Riemann Local 324 President



Johnson report on the activities of the Election Committee

Reports were then presented by the Credentials, Election, and Rules Committees. All three committees were brought to the stage for a round of applause and a brief picture, and then the respective committee chairs spoke to the delegates. Credentials Chairman Pervous (Andy B.) Badilishamwalimu of Local 310 moved to adopt the Credentials Report, which was approved unanimously. He also gave a supplemental credentials report that stipulated the number of delegates in attendance for the day.

After playing a short video about election proceedings, Election Committee Chairwoman Yvette Johnson of Local 300 announced the rules adopted for electing the Judges of Election who will conduct this year's election of National Officers. She then received and approved nominations from the delegates for the positions available as Judges of Election. The list of nominees included nine delegates from nine different locals:

- Richard Coleman, Local 306
- · Woody Hendrickson, Local 332
- Roxie Olds-Pride, Local 311
- Susanna Paniagua, Local 320
- · Chawanda Parson, Local 310

- Tommy Reid, Local 300
- Michael Rembelinsky, Local 308
- Claude Ridley, Local 321
- Eric Schneider, Local 303

Finally, Rules Committee Chairman John Gibson delivered his committee's report and moved to adopt the thirty-one rules recommended by the Rules Committee. Chairman Gibson, who also serves as the Eastern Regional Vice President and President of Local 308, explained how crucial rules are to the Convention proceedings, and thanked his Committee members for all their hard work in developing these rules. All rules were met with overwhelming approval, and therefore were adopted by the delegates.

All in all, the Convention's first day was jampacked. Recess was called a little early in order to facilitate the start of the Judge's Election. Delegates lined up to cast their votes for three Judges.

## Tuesday, August 23

Tuesday, or Day 2, proved to be a very exciting day at the National Convention. First, Local 302 Vice President Juanita Contreras delivered a beautiful invocation, which was followed by the daily Pledge of Allegiance. Appropriately, after moment of prayer and reflection, President Hogrogian took a moment to honor all those that have served with a "Salute to Troops" slideshow. The Postal Service is a major source for veteran employment - second only to the Department

of Veteran Affairs. After the slideshow, President Hogrogian asked all veterans in attendance to stand and be thanked for their service. Scores of delegates rose to be honored.

Next, the chair of the Credentials Committee took the podium again, and reported that all 288 delegates had officially registered - travel



Rep. Danny David (IL-7th) delivers passionate words to NPMHU delegates



Election Committee Chairman Tommy Reid opens the floor for nominations



(I-r) Thomas Ruther, Robert Blum, Charles Manago, Kevin Fletcher, Eileen Mills, Tim Dwyer, Don Gonzales, Teresa Harmon, David Ross, Thomas (TJ) Branch