

David Wisneski Local 331 President



Don Chapman Local 325 President



Don Sneesby Local 316 President



(I-r) Ponise Dorsey, Michael Hora, Bob Losi, Noah Giebel, Martha Ring, Mitzi Montemore, Keanna Whitlock, Robin Daniels, Rachelle Clark, and Deb Meyers

delays had prevented a few from arriving on time. After he spoke, the Committee to Elect the Election Committee announced the results of the prior night's judges' election. The winning candidates were announced, and they immediately started to preside over the upcoming election of National Officers. The winning candidates were Tommy Reid, Local 300, Chair; Richard Coleman, Local 306; and Chawanda Parson, Local 310.

As the newly elected committee of Judges took the stage, President Hogrogian took a moment to honor the hard work performed by the dedicated staff of the National Union. Those who normally work in accounting, contract administration, and regional representation (just to name a few) have all provided invaluable support roles to help organize and run the National Convention.

After this, Tommy Reid, the Chair of the newly-constituted Election Committee gave a brief address. He laid out the rules that would govern the primary elections on Wednesday, and gave delegates a chance to ask questions. Once the rules were announced, it was the official time for nominations.

To many in the audience, the nomination process was the Convention's most pivotal event. National President Paul Hogrogian and National Secretary-Treasurer Mark Gardner, as well as three of the five regional Vice Presidents, were facing re-election. Should two candidates be nominated, there would have to be a mail ballot vote in September. Should three or more be nom-



Sen. Jon Tester (MT) speaks to the importance of the USPS in rural America

inated, there would first have to be a secret ballot primary election on Wednesday, followed by a mail referendum this fall.

First up was the office of National President. Paul Hogrogian was nominated by June Harris of Local 306, and he was the only candidate nominated. As a result, he was declared elected by acclamation. Also elected by acclamation were Secretary-Treasurer Mark Gardner, Northeastern Region Vice President Dave Wilkin, and Southern Region Vice President Lawrence Sapp. All four reelected officers received an enthusiastic and unanimous standing ovation. The positive energy in the room was really something to experience.

Among the other three positions for Regional Vice President in the Central, Eastern, and Western Regions, primary elections were necessary for two of these races, as three or more candidates were nominated from the Convention floor. Two candidates were nominated for Eastern



National President Paul Hogrogian



National Secretary-Treasurer Mark Gardner

Region Vice President, where incumbent John Gibson will face off against Local 305 President Felandria Jackson in a mail ballot election. The other two regions – Central and Western – received multiple nominations, listed below:

• Central Region Vice President

- Jim Haggarty, Local 307
- June Harris, Local 306
- Rita Tripp, Local 307
- Western Region Vice President
- David E. Castillo, Local 303
- Eddie Cowan, Local 303
- Ernie Grijalva, Local 302
- Donald Sneesby, Local 316
- Javier Valencia, Local 303

The efficiency and enthusiasm of the nomination process was an inspiration, according to Congressman Danny Davis, who delivered an