National Postal Mail Handlers Union - Unity · Democracy · Strength - Division of LIUNA - AFL-CIO

National Postal Mail Handlers Union A Division of LIUNA (AFL-CIO)

Media Center / News

Jun 18

House Appropriations Committee Votes to Restore USPS Service Standards

While the House Appropriations Committee was approving the Financial Services and General Government Appropriations bill on June 17, 2015, an amendment to the bill was offered by Congressman Chakah Fattah, a Democrat from Pennsylvania, to restore USPS service standards back to July 1, 2012.  That amendment was passed by a bi-partisan vote of 26 to 23, with six Republicans joining all voting Democrats on the Committee to support the amendment.  The Members that voted yes for this amendment have heard and listened to their constituents and the business community, and clearly understand that we all need a Postal Service  that is both vibrant and on time.

This battle is far from over, as this step is only the first of many needed to enact responsible postal reform.   We will be monitoring the bill as it leaves the Committee and heads to the full House of Representatives.  And if successful, it would then need to be taken up by the Senate.  So our collective work is far from over.

“This initial victory was a team effort,” said NPMHU National President Paul Hogrogian, adding “I’d like to thank the National Rural Letter Carriers Association, the American Postal Workers Union, and the National Association of Letter Carriers for closely working together to educate our elected officials as to why restoring the service standards is so important.”

House Appropriations Amendment Vote Tally

Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA)
Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE)
Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA)
Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY)
Rep. Evan Jenkins (R-WV)
Rep. David Jolly (R-FL)
Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH)
Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
Rep. Nita Lowey  (D-NY)
Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN)
Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-MS)
Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME)
Rep. David Price (D-NC)
Rep. Michael Quigley (D-IL)
Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD)
Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)
Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY)
Rep. Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Rep. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL)
Rep. David Young (R-IA)

Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-AL)
Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA)
Rep. John Carter (R-TX)
Rep. Thomas Cole (R-OK)
Rep. Ander Crenshaw (R-FL)
Rep. John Culberson (R-TX)
Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Rep. Charles Fleischmann (R-TN)
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA)
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD)
Rep. Jaime Herrera-Beutler (R-WA)
Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA)
Rep. Matha Roby (R-AL)
Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY)
Rep. Thomas Rooney (R-FL)
Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID)
Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT)
Rep. David Valadao (R-CA)
Rep. Stephen Womack (R-AR)
Rep. Kevin Yoder (R-KS)

Not Voting
Rep. Mark Amodei (R-NV)
Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA)


Local 297 Local 298 Local 299 Local 300 Local 301 Local 302 Local 303 Local 304 Local 305 Local 306 Local 307 Local 308 Local 309 Local 310 Local 311 Local 312 Local 313 Local 314 Local 315 Local 316 Local 316 Local 317 Local 318 Local 320 Local 321 Local 322 Local 323 Local 324 Local 325 Local 327 Local 328 Local 329 Local 330 Local 331 Local 332 Local 333 Local 334 Local Unions
Enlarge Map